Recovery Resources

 
christian recovery resources“My people are destroyed from lack of knowledge…”
Hosea 4:6

Odds are you aren’t the first person who has ever faced your particular problem or struggle.  Especially in this day and age where information abounds, resources are available that address almost any issue that we may encounter.  The challenge may be finding those resources.

When I first began to look for resources to deal with lust, for example, I was very disappointed.  Looking back, I realize that I did not look for those resources wholeheartedly.  Nevertheless, the looking that I did do did not result in anything substantial.

Since this book is meant to be a practical guide to overcoming many of life’s problems, I am going to list some of the resources that are available:

My Amazon.com Associates Store

Many of the items listed below can be found in my Amazon.com Associates Store.

Bibles

The Life Recovery Bible – Stephen Arterburn and David Stoop – http://www.newlife.com/ and http://www.drstoop.com/

Celebrate Recovery® Bible – Zondervan Publishing – http://www.amazon.com – search for “Celebrate Recovery Bible”

Books

Ten Life Choices – Bob Perdue – http://www.lifenowministries.com/

Straight Talk on Depression, Straight Talk on Fear, Battlefield of the Mind and many others – Joyce Meyer – http://www.joycemeyer.org/

Every Man’s Battle, Every Woman’s Battle, and many others – Stephen Arterburn and others – http://www.newlife.com/

Pursuing Sexual Wholeness, Strength in Weakness, and many others – Andrew Comiskey – http://www.desertstream.org/

Books addressing homosexual issues – http://exodusbooks.org

One Thousand Gifts – Ann Voskamp – http://aholyexperience.com

Recovery Groups

Celebrate Recovery – http://www.celebraterecovery.com/

Overcomers Outreach – http://www.overcomersoutreach.org/

Alcoholics Victorious – http://www.alcoholicsvictorious.org/

Recovery for the City – local to the Tidewater, VA area – http://www.r4ci.com/

Sought Out – local to the Tidewater, VA area – http://www.soughtout.org/

Counseling Services

Focus on the Family Counseling Services – http://www.pureintimacy.org/f/focus-on-the-family-counseling-services

Focus on the Family has a staff of licensed, professional Christian counselors available to talk with you.

If you’re facing a crisis and need guidance and encouragement, Focus on the Family has a staff of licensed, professional Christian counselors available to talk with you.  To speak with one of them, please call our ministry at 1-800-A-FAMILY (1-800-232-6459).  Our counseling staff is available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Mountain Time).  If you call during those hours and our counselors are unavailable, one of our counselor’s assistants will arrange for a counselor to call you back as soon as possible at no charge to you.

Please note that our counselors can only offer an initial consultation; they cannot engage in an ongoing counseling relationship.  If you need additional counseling, our counseling staff can refer you to a Christian counselor in your area.  You can also request this referral online using our counseling referral database.

Christian Counselors Directory – http://christiantherapist.com/

American Association of Christian Counselors – http://www.aacc.net/shop/ccn/ccn_disclaimer.php

Many Counselors Christian Therapist Directory – http://www.manycounselors.com/

Find a Christian Counselor – http://www.findchristiancounselor.com/

Christian Psychotherapy Services – local to the Tidewater, VA area – http://www.christianpsychotherapy.com/

Prayer

CBN Prayer Line – 1-800-759-0700

TD Jakes Ministries – 1-888-868-2497

Breakthrough with Rod Parsley – 1-800-424-8644

National Prayer Center – 1-800-477-2937

Dial-A-Prayer.com – 1-812-473-7729

Content Filtering

K9 Web Protection Software – free – I use and recommend this one – http://www.k9webprotection.com/

Net Nanny Software – annual subscription fee – I use and recommend this one – they have a version for Android devices – http://www.netnanny.com/

Cybersitter Software – annual subscription fee – http://www.cybersitter.com/

Covenant Eyes Software – http://www.covenanteyes.com/

XXX Church Software – free accountability only software – http://xxxchurch.com/

Hedgebuilders – Internet filtering system that works with your current ISP – http://www.hedgebuilders.com/

Other Resources

Sought Out – Many “Helpful Websites” are linked here – http://www.soughtout.org/

Setting Captives Free – Interactive Accountability for those struggling with sexual addiction – http://www.settingcaptivesfree.com

Life Ministries – Sexual Addiction Recovery Ministry – http://www.freedomeveryday.org/

Regeneration Ministries – Sexual and Relational Brokenness – http://regenerationministries.org/

Desert Stream Ministries – Liberating Those Bound By Sexual and Relational Brokenness – http://desertstream.org/

Karl D. Lehman, M.D. and Charlotte E.T. Lehman, M.Div. – http://www.kclehman.com/

Theophostic Prayer Ministry – http://www.theophostic.com/

The National Association for Christian Recovery – http://www.nacronline.com/

Christians in Recovery – http://christians-in-recovery.org/

Christian Recovery Fellowship – http://www.christianrecoveryministries.com/

International Christian Recovery Coalition – http://christianrecoverycoalition.com/